While shopping for groceries, reading the ingredients label becomes a necessity for people that are avoiding eating certain things. Vegans tend to avoid anything directly or indirectly coming from animals, while Muslims religion- Islam prohibits them from consuming anything coming directly or indirectly from pigs.
It becomes quite a hassle when buying regular everyday items at the store because of these problems. Most of the time, a person is left astounded when they see ingredients they could not have imagined in the food products they want to buy.
Products such as cakes, cookies, chips, jellies et cetera tend to contain traces of pork in them in some way or the other. Although obviously, these foods don’t taste like meat at all, they still tend to have it for various reasons.
For instance, sweet foods such as marshmallows, jellies, and even chocolate mousse have gelatin in them. Gelatin gives them a jelly-like consistency.
Gelatin itself is derived from pigs’ skin and Bones. Similarly, products that need preservatives or flavoring and sometimes just the right consistency will require byproducts or the indirect use of pork in them.
When reading the ingredients label, it is important to remember that it will not be directly written that the product contains “pork “. Neither will it be written, “pig “or “ham”. Instead, it is important that people avoiding such ingredients know which ingredients are made from pork. For example, if gelatin is written then that means there is some pork in that product indirectly.
When it comes to chips and other various products, a common question facing the Islamic society as well as vegan people is if there are any traces of pork inside various food items and specially packaged foods at the grocery store.
Doritos is a famous company that produces chips. It is an American brand of flavored tortilla chips which first started producing its products in 1964 by Frito Lay. Frito-Lay itself is a wholly owned subsidiary of PepsiCo.
Doritos are popular because they are not made from potatoes like regular chips are. Doritos are consumed heavily in the US, UK and Canada. Other countries which don’t produce Doritos tend to readily import them from countries nearby that do make them.
This is why it becomes shocking when people overhear that Doritos contain pork. There are various ways to answer this question. Some people claim that unless there is a hidden pork flavoring in the powder that exists on the chips when formulating them, only then are the chips actually containing pork.
The chips themselves are basically just made up of wet ground maize water and salt. The standard Dorito chip is, therefore the same all around. It is just the flavoring powder that gives them a different flavor.
Now the question comes as to which Oil is used to cook the chips in. It is clearly written and known that Doritos fries they’re chips in veggie oil. This affirms that no lard is used there. If there was any Lord used while frying the chips, that would make them contain pork since lard is derived from the fats of pigs.
It is also known that Doritos used a pork enzyme for one of their flavors which was predominantly the cheeseburger flavor.
However, this flavor was discontinued, and no pork enzymes were used after that. This was done back in 2008. other people claim that if you want to know whether any product contains pork in it, then there’s a thing to look out for. All you need to do is simply look out for the kosher symbol, which points out that the product does not contain pork or shellfish.
Doritos may have some flavors around the world that contain pork rennet as a flavor. Rennet is a complex set of enzymes that are produced in the stomach of ruminant mammals.
Chymosin, its key component, is the protease enzyme that curdles the Keisean. Rennet comes from the pig’s lining of the fourth stomach and is sometimes used in cheesemaking since it is curdled with milk to produce cheese.
The use of pig rennet is very ancient, though, and Italy is the only one that applied it in the manufacture of their Pecorino di Farinda cheese. There are, however, kosher/halal substitutes used in Doritos, which make the following flavors halal.
The Doritos products without any pork rennet include Cool Ranch, Dinamitas, Flamas, Poppin Jalapenos, Nacho Cheese and Nacho Cheese for Taco Bell, Salsa Verde and Salsa Flavored Reduced Fat Cool Ranch and Nacho Cheese, Supreme Cheddar, Tapatio and Toasted Corn.
More to read:
- Do Marshmallows Have Pork?
- Does Gelatin have Pork? Let’s Find Out
- Is There Pork in Starburst?
- Does Ketchup Need to be Refrigerated
- Are Body Shop Products Chemical Free?
- Is Subway Halal?
- Is Sushi Halal?
- Where can You Find Tahini in the Grocery Store?