The debate revolving around various fast food places and whether they are halal or not has been quite questionable because a lot of non-Muslim countries are populated heavily by Muslim people, who of course, love fast food just like non-Muslims do.
Since Muslims have specific requirements when shopping and eating, the food being halal is one of them.
Is Domino’s Halal? Yes and No, Here’s Why
Domino’s is one of the leading pizza places in the entire world. It has entertained a 100% halal menu in the previous years, but because of low sales, it has resorted back to the non-halal menu and claims that they no longer have any halal stores unless they are in Muslim countries.
Unfortunately, however, in some places such as Canada, where Arabs or any Muslims own the Domino’s store itself, they usually don’t prefer handling things such as pork with their hands.
They, therefore, sell only halal pizzas with halal toppings. This makes the Domino’s Pizza brand halal when it comes to that branch and people handling the pizza work.
Topping such as pepperoni and ham become non-halal or haram, and even other forms of meat such as chicken and beef become non-halal Ben Dior slaughtered them in the Islamic way or crossed contaminated with non-halal toppings such as the pepperoni or various meats.
Since Domino’s cannot keep up with their halal menu, they state themselves that they cannot guarantee their food is 100% halal.
This sad news has caused quite the problem for the Muslim community, which love Domino’s Pizza nonetheless.
Domino’s claims that their pizza, as well as all their other products, aren’t halal anymore because they no longer have halal stores, with the exception of Muslim countries.
Even though the ingredients such as the dough, the cheese, the sauce, et cetera are 100% halal, the threat of cross-contamination with the non-halal products makes Domino’s haram.
The pizza stones, The pizza cutters and even the counter itself are all reasons why cross-contamination occurs.
Since the same hand make non-halal pizzas and assumes handmade hello pizzas, it is tough for the pizzas to be halal. Even if a different pair of gloves are worn for making the halal pizza, the same pair of gloves have already touched other toppings, such as the cheese and the dough which are required to make a regular pizza.
Domino’s claims that its chicken is halal slaughtered, but the definition of halal is questionable when it comes to standing the animals for welfare.
People claim that Domino’s and other fast-food chains are not halal and can never be unless 100% whole initiative is taking place.
This is because even when making halal food, the cross-contamination of Haram items is not surprising.
Therefore, unless there is a Domino’s chain in a Muslim country such as UAE, Pakistan, or Saudi Arabia, the Domino’s Pizza cannot be halal.
Other Domino’s products include things like their chicken wings. The chicken wings are apparently haram too. They claim that they don’t promote their stores or meat as halal approved.
Their chicken is mainly sourced from suppliers in Thailand whose product is, however, certified as halal by their religious authorities, except their chicken wings which are sourced through suppliers in the EU countries, some of which are not halal approved.
Even though the chicken is supposedly halal, after entering the Domino’s premises and being victim to cross-contamination, that chicken, as well as all the other ingredients used to make the pizzas, does not remain halal anymore.
Even a slight touch can ruin the purity of the ingredients used to make pizza by Domino’s. This is why they claim openly that they are not certified halal.
It is great, however that they are transparent with their policies and let the Muslim community know beforehand that they do not offer halal services when it comes to their pizza.
This is, of course, tough luck for the Muslim community because they cannot enjoy Domino’s the way other people can. The Muslim community can, however, resort to other halal pizza places near them.
Is Domino’s pepperoni halal?
There have been various campaigns to get 100% halal regulations in Domino’s UK. Ingredients include bacon or ham. Originally the ingredients for pepperoni have been replaced with halal beef sausage or roasted Tandoori chicken.
As for the pepperoni, it was made with cured turkey and produced as well as stored within the halal food authorities guidelines.
However, Domino’s claims that it does not have any halal stores anymore. This is because they were forced to ditch the halal-only menu after they experienced poor sales.
Domino’s claims that all their chicken is stunned and that none of the other meat that they use is halal.
Since Domino’s claims that they are not selling halal pizzas anymore, the question about pepperoni is quite apparent here. Other than that, pepperoni is generally not halal. It is quite rare that pepperoni is manufactured with meat other than pig’s meat.
But even if pig’s meat is not used for the pepperoni, the way the chicken is slaughtered makes the pepperoni non-halal anyway.
Is Domino’s Cheese halal?
The Domino’s Cheese used in pizzas itself is halal. However, when it is put in the open for making pizza, it can become cross-contaminated with non-halal toppings such as ham and pepperoni, which make the initially halal cheese haram.
This is because once the gloves used to make a non-halal pizza reach over to the cheese, that is enough to make the cheese contaminated.
Even if the gloves are changed, the cheese has still been touched by the contaminated gloves. This makes the initially halal cheese unusable for a halal pizza.
Unless one gets their Domino’s from a Muslim country that handles halal slaughtered meat products, the cheese itself can never be cross-contaminated because the meat is initially halal in the first place.
However, when you buy a pizza from non-Muslim countries such as the US or the UK, there is the constant threat of cross-contamination with non-halal toppings, which can make the perfectly halal cheese haram.
Various workers at Domino’s have thoroughly checked the mozzarella cheese used for the pizzas by reading the ingredients, and they have certified that the cheese used in the pizza itself is 100% halal.
But of course, that is of no benefit when cross-contamination takes place.
- Is Domino’s Pizza Halal? Yes and No, Here’s Why
- Is Domino’s Chicken Halal? May be, Here’s Why
- Is Costco Rotisserie Chicken Halal?
- Is Nando’s Halal?
- Is KFC Halal?
- Is Chicken Halal?
- Is Gelatin Halal?
- Is Hei Sushi Halal?