Many Muslims are opting to practice a devout lifestyle and follow the dietary restrictions mentioned in the Quran.
Our modern era has a deeply-rooted culture of fast fashion just like most things in today’s world. We have fast fashion, fast food, fast access to things, and much more.
However, it’s not an easy feat to practice such a lifestyle in a world where most food comes from factories. The Quran categorizes food as halal or haram, the latter being food that is not allowed for consumption.
Food containing pork, blood, and alcohol is not halal. Non-halal ingredients can be found in processed food in alcohol, spice mixtures, gelatin, and bouillon.
Moreover, alcohol is used in many preservatives in processed food. Animal products can be found in the glue used in the packaging of foods, and there is always a chance of pig bristles showing up in equipment used for production.
If the puff pastry contains any preservatives that contain alcohol, the item would not be halal for consumption anymore. Similarly, if any puff pastry is made using pork based gelatin, it’s not going to be halal either.
However, most of the alcohol gets evaporated during baking and what is remaining is a tiny amount. Despite this happening, the puff pastry doesn’t become halal.
Lidl puff pastry doesn’t claim to be halal certified because of the presence of alcohol in it.
The packaging of Lidl puff pastry says alcohol but doesn’t mention what type.
If the Puff Pastry contains Ethyl alcohol it can be considered halal. Mufti Desai has given a fatwa about it. According to him, it is halal because ethyl alcohol is added as a preservative not as an intoxicant.
Lidl puff pastry is not suitable for use by vegans and vegetarians, it doesn’t have any official halal certifications on the label either.
However, if you can find alternative pastries, we recommend it’s safe to stay away from the one with alcohol.
Halal food products are slowly becoming a trend, and many Islamic countries are getting strict about their restrictions on non-halal food.
The current market value for halal food is somewhere around $508 billion.
The Muslim population makes up one-fifth of the world’s total population. The population’s purchasing power has grown over the past couple of decades, which has resulted in them feeling empowered and reclaiming their religious confidence.
Countries like Malaysia are at the forefront of this demand for halal products. These days, it’s not a surprise to get items like rice and mineral water that are halal. Common additives like the E418, E100, and E407 are up for debate whether they will meet the requirements of halal food.
Halal products are not just limited to food products. Medications, skin creams, lip balms, and lipsticks can also be halal or haram.
More to Read:
- Is Jus Rol Puff Pastry Halal?
- Is ALDI Puff Pastry Halal?
- Is Greenvale Puff Pastry Halal?
- Is ASDA Puff Pastry Halal?
- Is Costco Rotisserie Chicken Halal?
- Is Nando’s Halal?
- Is KFC Halal?
- Is Chicken Halal? Yes only if…
- Is Domino’s Pizza Halal? Yes and No, Here’s Why
- Is Gelatin Halal? This is Why Gelatin May Not be Halal
- Is Domino’s Halal?
- Is Domino’s Chicken Halal?
- Popeyes Signature Chicken vs. Tenders
- Is Kung Pao Chicken Spicy?